Meet Mentor Pair Brennan & JD

4 Jan

In honor of National Mentoring Month, we’ve asked one of our mentor pairs to share their experience:

“The Mentoring Program is an integral element of Point’s support to LGBTQ scholars. Over the past couple of years, I have met inspiring and accomplished LGBTQ professionals from many different fields, and the Point staff, my fellow scholars, and my mentor have truly become my chosen family. As a young LGBTQ woman, finding examples of people “like me” doing the things I wanted to do with my life was so limited. Since the Mentoring Program paired me with JD, I have someone to emulate, a path and a series of accomplishments I can point to and say, “I want to do that.” As a queer woman in the film industry, JD has been where I am now. She understands my passion for my craft and the challenges I face, and she provides invaluable guidance and support in my development as an artist and an advocate.

JD and I have a long distance mentorship, but we are in constant contact with one another. We call, email, and text each other– she’s become a really important part of my life. I know I can contact her any time, and she’ll be there to celebrate my accomplishments, help me face challenges, and offer much needed perspective (and laughter!!).  I think communication is vitally important to the success of any mentoring relationship.

Over the summer, I shot a film in New Orleans. It was hot– like, triple digits hot– and our shoots were either outdoors or in an un-air conditioned apartment (with a flea-ridden dog!). JD made herself available to me – offering advice, providing encouragement, and helping me stay positive in even the most frustrating of circumstances.

Before I met JD, I had no concept of how the film industry worked or the steps I needed to take to accomplish my goals. Now I know where I want to be, and JD has helped me identify what I need to do to get there. When things get tough, she reminds me that my goals are attainable. I definitely have more confidence and more hope for my future as a result of her presence in my life.  Film is a difficult industry to break into — JD’s faith in my abilities is the push that gets me through when my own confidence falters.

                              -Point Scholar Brennan Peters

JD Salvatore“Point Foundation is probably my most favorite LGBTQ organization, and I have so enjoyed volunteering in a variety of capacities for the last five years. In that time, I have had the opportunity to meet and get to know many of the scholars, and I am both inspired and impressed by them. Being in Los Angeles and working both in film and LGBTQ activism, I’ve made myself available to them as a resource.

Now I have taken a more formal role, and I believe my background in film, activism and teaching (plus all my mothering skills!), made me an easy fit for Point’s Mentoring Program. In short, I make myself available for phone calls, visits and emails with Brennan, who is my assigned mentee.  I do my utmost to encourage, challenge and aid in Brennan’s success in her field of study.”

                               -JD Disalvatore, Mentor to Brennan Peters

In addition to Point Scholarships, each scholar is provided with a mentor who is a prominent and caring professional in the LGBTQ and straight-allied community. Our application cycle is currently underway. Our next group of scholars will be announced later this summer, and we will need many more professionals to help enrich the lives of these young students. Interested in becoming a mentor? Learn more about Point’s Mentoring Program today.

 

One Response to “Meet Mentor Pair Brennan & JD”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. POP INTERVIEW: Jorge Valencia, Point Foundation CEO/Executive Director - February 11, 2013

    [...] on our web site some personal reflections on the benefits of the Mentor and Scholar experience: http://pointfoundation.wordpress.com/2013/01/04/meet_mentor_pair/ and [...]

Comments are closed.

 
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

